500 Word Challenge: Day 9

Now that I’m getting more comfortable with this challenge I can now work on focus and a good way to focus is to have a theme.  Later on in this challenge ( about midway around day 15 or 16) I’ll work on development but right now the goal is to get into the habit of writing everyday, which I have not be doing but I am writing.  So glancing at my notebook or should I say notebooks this one has caught my eye, it’s a quote from Emerson:  Never say anything in writing you wouldn’t comfortably say in conversation. Isn’t this what writing is a conversation with your readers?  Before the internet and social media, it was more of a one way conversation unless your readers purposely wrote you a letter stating their opinion, but I remember somewhere along the way one of my teachers stated when writing picture your audience.  Who are you talking to and why?  That is why at first I was skittish about writing.  Who really wants to hear/read what I got to say?  And do I really want people to hear/read what I got to say.  Will they accept it?  Will they criticise?  Will they dismiss it?  Will they think I am just insane?  Then I learned that no matter what there will be people that will criticise, be dismissive, and plain old reject whatever opinion I may have and express, but that does not make me a bad person.  Quite the opposite, it makes me me.  It makes me interesting.  It makes others wonder and feel a connection with me because at some point in their own lives or maybe now in the present they felt the same way.  So maybe not a physical conversation but a psychic one going on between me and the author or me and the reader.  But the thing is, claim your words whether they are spoken or written.  Take pride in your thoughts and ideas.  They are yours.

Author: mygatheringplace2015

Blogs about my spiritual journeys and stuff.

Leave a Reply

